Breakfast at Tiffany’s

I watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s for the first time tonight and I asked myself why it had taken so long for me to see it! It’s like another world. Full of splendor and sophistication. Oh to have lived in the 1960’s, if just for a day! In New York, the most amazing city in the world. I saw so much of myself in Holly Golightly. A wandering soul looking to find where she truly belongs, refusing to take root until her dreams come true. Feeling lost, trying to find who she really is. And most of all, a free spirit, not belonging to anyone or anything. That cool, calm demeanor, seemingly unafraid of anything, just looking for that next great adventure. Yes, I can definitely relate to all that. So, Paul/Fred’s words really hit home for me. Somehow finding love was her answer, the key she needed to free herself from that “cage”. I love this scene, the culmination of all the radiance and grandeur ending in a dirty alley way in the rain. Yet, love and happiness is found in the dreariest of places and a new beginning is upon them. All to that beautiful song, “Moon River”. ‘Twas absolutely magical and I am so glad I took the time to see it.

And what an amazing woman she was! Elegant and inspiring.

Categories: The Motion of Pictures | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. Good blog you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.