2012: The Year of Change, Growth..and the Dragon

As we come to the end of 2012, I can’t help but reflect on all that has happened this year. I began this year in Los Angeles, where my time so far from home and everyone I knew gave me the opportunity to truly explore what it means to be me. Through some deep soul searching and a breaking down of everything I thought I knew, I have come out the other side a happier, more fulfilled person, more at peace with who I am. My faith was tested, my view of the world shattered and rebuilt. I was lost wandering in the wildness and eventually found my way to understanding. Now I have finally figured out what I want to do and I await the arrival of my grad school ACCEPTANCE letters to PhD programs in Anthropology. After having what has been the craziest, life changing year of my life, I am truly excited for what this next year has in store.

As my year end wrap up, I’d like to revisit the things that were a great inspiration for me in 2012.

I read some really amazing books this year that I highly recommend. These include the Elegance of the Hedgehog, On the Road, What matters most is how you walk through fire, The Hunger Games series, The Sun also Rises, and Jane Austen Ruined My Life (to name a few).

This was also a big year in film. I watched countless number of films this year I that truly love. Some old, some new. Most highly recommended. Check out my post on Breakfast at Tiffany, HappyThankYouMorePlease, and Moonrise Kingdom! My favorite this year? Almost Famous! How did I go so long without seeing it?!

This was a big year for music. I was introduced to many new artists that I have to come really love. Some of my fav artists put out some great albums. And I was reacquainted with some old favorites. Samples below.

So pumped that No Doubt is back!

However, the soundtrack of this year for me was definitely, without a doubt Ceremonials by Florence + the Machine. Through all the craziness, fun, and frustration of this year, Florence’s ethereal music carried me through. The highlight of this year was seeing her in concert (front row!) with my brother. Check out the post I wrote dedicated to Florence!

2012 was the year of creativity and self exploration. This was the year I gave my love of photography an audience. I bought a Holga toy camera, a Canon Rebel T2i, and a Canon AE1 Program. I’ve truly enjoyed this form of expression. I’ve discovered new ways to express myself and share my point of view. Here’s part 1 of 4 of my Holga love story.

But my greatest accomplishments this year has been this blog. The opportunity to share my thoughts and view of the world with the world has been truly inspiring. I created some articles I am really proud of. These include my first interview with my cousin Carl-Philippe, my article on environmentalism and health, and my October Photo Challenge.

Yes, 2012 was a defining year for my life and I am grateful for everything I learned along the way. I was broken, I was lost, and somehow here I am, excited for what 2013 has to offer. This has truly been the year of unexpected magick, and I look forward to seeing what the new one will bring!

Categories: Random Sparkle | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.